Ehren's Blog

Dead code progress

Posted in Seneca by ehren on April 7, 2010

So far things are on track with my attempts to developed an unused function finding tool. Now that the function pointer/jump table problem has been solved other more subtle issues have come to light.

The first was a problem with callgraph‘s handling of inheritance chains. As I mentioned previously, it was necessary to add each method to the node table (see schema reference) both when the method’s body is processed (as is already the case) but also when the method’s type is processed. At some point I should really develop some tests here but this affects the recognition of pure virtual functions in a number of complicated cases.

However, I also ran into another issue where certain methods were not finding themselves into the inheritance chains in which they belong. This seems to be only when a virtual function overrides a base class function that has not been defined in the ‘next up’ base class (A defines virtual foo, B derives from A, C derives from B and redefines virtual foo). This could be a Treehydra issue or a maybe a problem with the GCC binfo data structure (or maybe I’m just misunderstanding things).

Either way, my solution has been to process all base classes and subclasses of a method both when the type is processed and also when the method body is processed. This appears to be a working solution (although it certainly does not improve callgraph compilation times).

Once this was handled I started to get some pretty good results but I noticed scriptable methods were getting into the mix. After a few hours of fruitless hacking it turned out I just forgot to properly define NS_SCRIPTABLE (since I’m not running a –with-static-checking build). After rebuilding again, I believe I finally attained a 0% false positive rate.

This time I hit another problem though. A bunch of genuinely dead methods turned up by my most recent (defective) analysis were not showing up. In fact, very few methods were showing up at all. Investigating, it turns out I’ve been quite overzealous in marking a method as scriptable. My previous technique was to check if __attribute__((user("NS_script")) was present in the declaration attributes of a function and also to check if it is present in the type attributes of the class and any base class. This excludes a bunch of juicy dead stuff like nsCharsetMenu::SetCharsetCheckmark (gimple isn count 75 ftw) which is a member of a non-scriptable class that derives from two scriptable interfaces (which do not declare SetCharsetCheckmark).

Naturally, the solution when marking methods scriptable because of their base classes is only to mark the method scriptable when the base class declares the method and is scriptable. Come to think of it, I probably don’t even need to do this because of the way I group together base and derived methods.

Anyway, my current status is waiting for a build with these changes to finish. We will see if there are more issues.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sara Forest said, on December 17, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    very nice page!. http://sites.google.com/site/webdirectorydirectorioweb/


Leave a Reply

